Met my first PUG..

7 Jan

…in my little town today.

Was taking a little walk before a Skype session with Moomy, and as I neared the traditionally-triangle-shaped-roofed-house I currently called home, I spotted a cute figure with its indisputably super-duper-cute curled-up tail walking its human towards me. Here’s a mini break-down of our but less than a minute exchange:

“Pug-chan! Pug ga suki (I like pugs)!” I manage to voice as I turn to proudly showoff my pug backpack.

Making gestures to under her chin, Pug-chan’s owner tells me that he likes to be stroked under his neck and to give it a try.

Ii desu ka (Can I really)???” I excitedly ask.

Upon the signal, an affirmative nod, I reach my hand out. Barely a second after I scratch his chin, noticeably unimpressed, Pug-chan turns his majestic head away and pulls his human onwards to continue with his walk.

So, with that ends Joy’s, probably not very exciting but definitely memorable, encounter with her first pug in her little town.

Just the way I like to start the New Year, being blown off by a pug 😉

Seriously though, I started the New Year with quite a few firsts. First New Year in Japan, first “osechi”, first “fukubukuro shopping”, first time getting an ear infection in Japan (I probably got it when I was a kid too, since it tends to happens to children)…

And there will be many more firsts to come! Yay 2016!

 

Leave a Reply

